Halloween: Trick or Treat?

A light in the darkness

I don’t like halloween it makes me feel unsettled & nervous.

Not only do I disagree with the trivialisation of evil but when did it become ok to allow kids to take sweets from strangers for one day a year? Parents spend a lot of time teaching their children about the importance of ‘stranger danger’ & being safe then suddenly turn into hypocrites every 31st October!

I have heard the argument that it’s “just a bit of fun” but I don’t think that is true. Yes for most it’s just an excuse to have a party & dress up but whether you think it or not halloween is not as innocent as that.

It’s origins are a celebration before All Hallows Day which focused on “remembering the dead including saints, martyrs, and all the faithful departed believers…the traditional focus of All Hallows’ Eve revolves around the theme of using “humour and ridicule to confront the power of death.” (Wikipedia)
These origins now seem to have been twisted over the years to become more about celebrating what is evil, gory, scary & disturbing.

I believe that this world was created by a kind, generous & loving God & that He wants us to be safe.
Because I believe in God I think it would be foolish of me to deny that beings such as ghosts or demons exist.
The fact that I believe they & satan do exist is my main concern about celebrating halloween.
I do not want to celebrate something I know to be evil regardless of whether others around me think it’s harmless or not.

I read a blog post recently written by a christian that explained their reason for taking part in the halloween activities in their neighbourhood.
Their reasoning for being involved was to be part of the community as a christian rather than shying away & turning their back on the festivities.
I’m not entirely convinced by this argument. Yes as a christian we should be a shining light in the darkness & be there for our communities regardless of what they believe in BUT as christians we need to be careful what we involve ourselves in. Not wanting to be seen as party poopers is one thing but being involved in something harmful just so others will think we’re part of the community is another. (That’s just peer pressure!)

After my experiences with therapy I have realised that the human sub-conscious is fragile & complex.
What we expose ourselves to no matter how quickly will have an affect on us.
Allowing our children & ourselves to be submersed in the themes of halloween is not good for anyone & contradicts what we teach for the rest of the year.

J John has recently written an article for The Mirror stating “Six reasons why I believe Halloween is far from harmless” it’s worth a read whether you are a christian or not as they’re not just christian reasons he gives.

When all is said & done we each have our own opinions so whatever you decide please stay safe.

One thought on “Halloween: Trick or Treat?

Leave a Reply

