Back To Basics: Blanket Squares – Rib Stitch

This week we are going to knit our squares in Rib Stitch.

Begin by casting on the relevant number of stitches for your square.

To create a rib we knit one stitch (K1) then we purl one stitch (P1) this is repeated across the row.

On the next row we knit one where there is a knit stitch & we purl one where there is a purl stitch.

Continue knitting like this until your square is the right size & cast off.

My final square. I knitted this square twice & both times my stitches were uneven. The wool was given to me second hand & I think it was unravelled from a half finished project so the yarn doesn't lie flat.

My final square.
I knitted this square twice & both times my stitches were uneven. The wool was given to me second hand & I think it was unravelled from a half finished project so the yarn doesn’t lie flat.

 

Leave a Reply

