Where I Stand: Becoming Self Aware

My whole journey over the last 2 1/2 years has been incredible. I have learnt so much about myself that I didn’t even have an inkling of.
Looking back at my first session I can remember saying “How can I not know me, I am me!”
I didn’t understand then just how much I had buried my true self under who I thought others wanted me to be.

This (among other things) has now been worked through & I have become aware of how I react to life around me. Because I can now see my reactions more clearly I can make sure what I am doing is productive rather than destructive.
I no longer box up unwanted feelings because I have learnt that in the long run dealing with them is better for me.

Through therapy I came to realise that I had set the bar too high in several areas in my life.
Having the bar raised so high meant that I would never reach it so felt I was constantly failing.
Realising this meant that I could stop aiming for an unachievable goal & start focusing on positives that I could achieve.

If (like me at the beginning) you don’t think you could hide things from yourself, that only you can know yourself inside out because you’re you, then please give it a try. I was amazed at how much of myself I had hidden deep down where it had been ignored for so long I no longer knew it was there.

Sometimes we need a helping hand to get to know who we truly are, it’s not an automatic setting within ourselves.

 

Leave a Reply

