Back To Basics: Finishing

There are a number of things I haven’t yet covered with the Back To Basics Series such as making button holes & picking up stitches but I have decided that as there is so much to cover it might be best to cover finishing touches now & move on to actually knitting.
I will be posting some easy patterns for us to knit together & if something pops up that I haven’t covered we can talk about it when we need to.

In this post I will cover a few basic finishing touches.

Blocking

I have to admit to not blocking my work but this is something I plan on changing as I start to create my own patterns & require my knitting to be less about guess work!

Blocking is when you take a piece of your work, for example the back of a jumper & pin it out flat to the correct size.
You then take a damp cloth & place it in between your work & an iron.
Iron over the work to lightly press.
NB: Don’t press any ribbing as it will lose it’s elasticity.

Once the piece is dry you know it is flat & the correct size &ready to be attached to the rest of your garment.

Back Stitch

Pin work together with right sides facing & use back stitch one stitch in from the edge.

Sewing Seams - Back Stitch

Image taken from Patons “Learn To Knit”

Flat Seam

Stitch together as shown matching ridge to ridge.

Sewing Seams - Flat Seam

Image taken from Patons “Learn To Knit”

Invisible Seam

Stitch together as shown. Sew one stitch in from the edge.

Sewing Seams - Invisible Seam

Image taken from Patons “Learn To Knit”

NB: A lot of garments are sewn together using back stitch but I tend to use the invisible seam for the majority of my work.
I have also started using a crochet hook to help me create seams for garments which I will share at a later date.

Leave a Reply

