Knitting: A Winter Hat

Ravelry is my favourite place to find knitting patterns, mainly because there are so many free ones & it is so easy to use.

I was looking for a simple hat for winter & came across this pattern.
It looked nice and easy so I bought some wool & got knitting.

However, somehow I managed to make it far to big for my head!
I looked at the finished hat & felt like sobbing because I really didn’t want to undo it all & start again.

Then I had a stroke of genius (if I do say so myself!!)
I grabbed two buttons from my button jar (yes I have one of these) & folded the hat on one side making it the correct size. I sewed the buttons on to keep the fold in place & “hey presto” I had a knitted hat that fitted with a stylish twist. Problem solved.

I have had so many comments from people when I have worn this hat saying that they love the buttons & it’s a great touch.
I have mentioned that they are only there due to my failure at knitting the hat the right size but everyone seems to think it’s a happy mistake.

What the hat should look like. Image taken from Robyn Devine's pattern on Ravelry.com

What the hat should look like. Image taken from Robyn Devine’s pattern on Ravelry.com

The button detail on my hat

The button detail on my hat

2 thoughts on “Knitting: A Winter Hat

  1. Pingback: Knitting: A Winter Hat Part Two | purplekatie

  2. Pingback: Knitting: Winter Hat 2014 | purplekatie

Leave a Reply

