Baking: Jaffa Cake Muffins

Sorry for the delay in getting this post out, it was B’s birthday the other day & we’ve enjoyed a weekend celebrating. (& I don’t appear to have got back into the swing of things sorry!)

I wanted to share with you my recipe for the muffins I made for his birthday cake.

I wanted to make something a bit different so I came up with the Jaffa Cake Muffin!

20130828-191608.jpg

For the muffins you will need:

250g Plain Flour
2tsp Baking Powder
1/2tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
175g Caster Sugar
100g Chocolate Chips
250ml Milk
90ml Vegetable Oil
1 Large Egg
1tsp Vanilla Extract

– Preheat the oven to 200C & fill the muffin tray with cases.
– Weigh the dry ingredients into a bowl.
– Pour all the liquid ingredients into a jug.
– Mix both sets of ingredients together & spoon into the cases. (The mixture will be runny.)
– Bake for 20 mins or until a knife comes out clean when placed through the muffin.

Once the muffins are cooked & cooled they are ready to ice.
I dolloped some apricot jam onto the middle of each muffin & then used chocolate buttercream icing to replicate the top of a Jaffa cake.

photo 4

For the buttercream icing you will need:

100g Chocolate (minimum 70%)
100g Unsalted Butter, softened
200g Icing Sugar
1tsp Vanilla Extract
Milk to loosen

– Melt the chocolate (I used the microwave but you could use a bowl over a simmering pan)
– Beat the butter in a bowl until soft, then gradually beat in the icing sugar.
– Add the Vanilla Extract & beat some more.
– Fold in the melted chocolate until its completed mixed in. (If the mixture is too stiff add a few drops off milk to loosen)

photo 2

I’m not very good at being patient & I was trying to get these made & iced in one evening. (I had banished B to the living room!)
Because of this I didn’t let the muffins cool long enough before plating them up & icing them, so when I came to find them the morning after (B’s birthday) they had gone a little lop-sided!

They tasted delicious (even if I do say so myself!!) I definitely recommend giving them ago.

photo 5

One thought on “Baking: Jaffa Cake Muffins

  1. Pingback: London Zoo | purplekatie

Leave a Reply

