To tattoo or not to tattoo?

For a long time I have wanted to get a tattoo & over the years I have had plenty of ideas about what to have but just not decided which to go for.

Most of my ideas have revolved around¬†hearts, butterflies, crosses & celtic ‘mother knots’.

Image taken from tattoomenow.com

Image taken from tattoomenow.com

I love the blue & orange butterflies above.
I’d really like to have something similar on my feet (one on each) but I know that tattooing your feet can be very painful!

Since becoming a mum I have wanted to have a tattoo that reflects that role/responsibility.
This celtic mother knot would do just that but I’m concerned it isn’t feminine enough.

Image taken from tumblr.com

Image taken from tumblr.com

I really like the idea of having a tattoo on the back of my neck especially now that my hair is so short.

This cross would be perfect as it’s lovely & simple.

At the moment I really want to have “take courage be courageous” written on the side of my wrist.

It was a phrase I heard at New Wine which really struck a cord with me because I spend a lot of my time worrying about how other people see me & now that I have realised this I want to free myself from this way of thinking.
Having it tattooed would serve as a reminder of how I felt when I first heard it & how I want to live my life – being true to myself.

I am currently spending a lot of my time trawling through the internet to find a font that I love enough to be written on me forever.
I want it to look handwritten but still be pretty enough that it looks nice.

Example of font for tattoo

Example of font for tattoo

I recently found a site via Pinterest that shows you how to make your own temporary tattoos, so I might have to have a go.
If you want to give it a try the link is here.

One of my concerns about getting a tattoo is that once I get one I’ll want more, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, I just don’t think I’ll look great covered in them!

I guess we’ll see whether I change my mind about this, I don’t think I’ve ever been ready to commit to a permanent tattoo before but I’m feeling closer to being ready now.

Leave a Reply

