Knitting: Cuddle Cloth

My sister-in-law is currently awaiting (along with the rest of us) the arrival of her first child.
My brother is very excited to be a dad for the first time & I am over the moon at becoming an Auntie!!

I have been busying myself with knitting & have made a couple of items the first of which I will share here, a cuddle cloth.

Cuddle Cloth 2

The pattern is quite an easy one & I discovered it while sifting through one of my favourite sites ravelry.com. You have to create an account to view the patterns but it is free to set up & once you do it will take a while to tear yourself away!

To make the cuddle cloth you will need:

Wool
Needles
Darning needle

For my cuddle cloth I used chunky wool (Sirdar Click “Chunky with wool”) that required 6.5mm needles. The original pattern is for thinner wool so I adapted it to suit what I had.

Body:

Begin with 1 st & working in a garter stitch, increase at the start of every row by knitting into the front & back of the first stitch.
Continue until you have 37 sts.
Decrease at the start of each row by K2tog until you have 5 sts.

Head:

Increase at the start of the next 2 rows (7sts).
Knit 1 row.
Increase at the start of the next 2 rows (9sts).
Knit 5 rows.
Increase at the start of every row until you have 15 sts.

Decrease at the start of each row until you are back to 9sts.
Knit 5 rows.
Decrease at the start of the next 2 rows (7sts).
Knit 1 row.
Decrease at the start of the next 2 rows (5sts).

Cast off.

Finishing:

Sew the side of the head together.
Stuff lightly & close the bottom of the head.
Using a contrasting colour embroider the face.

To make the arms, fold in the sides by approx 4cm & pull down until the “hands” extend beyond the edge by approx 2.5cm.
pin in place & sew down at the ends.

Fold the bottom point to the wrong side (you may find it automatically curls this way) approx 4cm & sew in place.

As you can see from my picture I have not yet created the arms as I am undecided as to whether I want them or not. The image below shows a finished cuddle cloth with arms.

Microsoft Word - Cuddle Cloth

Leave a Reply

